top of page
  • Writer's pictureElise

Get your kiddies cooking!


It's never too early to teach your kiddies how to cook 🍳🍜🍡 Preschoolers love helping! Not only will they learn important life skills, but they're more likely to accept new foods and eat food they've had a hand in making. So it's a win for all .... albeit a messy one 😂 Kitchen activity ideas for kiddies ages 1 to 5 🍡 put fruit and cheese on skewers 🍡 putting chopped veges (etc) in a pot 🍡 baking, measuring, sifting, stirring 🍡 rolling dough or bliss balls

🍡 grating and peeling 🍡 using cookie cutters 🍡 chopping and cutting 🍡 cracking eggs 🍡 using kitchen tools like egg beaters and stick blenders 🍡 mixing and whisking 🍡 assembling foods like putting toppings on pizza or fillings in sushi What kitchen jobs can your kiddies do?

It's never too late to teach your kiddies how to cook 🍳🍜🍡 My goal was to make sure that by the time Mr 12 was a teenager he could: 🍽️ make a roast dinner by himself 🍽️ follow a recipe 🍽️ be able to make 5+ different dinners 🍽️ make his own lunches 🍽️ be able to use knives and the oven unassisted 🍽️ know how to assemble a healthy dinner plate He can now do all of these things! And he can make chocolate mousse! Which is awesome! BUT... ....I haven't spent nearly as much time and effort teaching my girls basic cooking skills. So they can bake and make bliss balls with help, but that's about it. I think basically, I'm just really sexist and I was determined my son would learn to cook and not be a useless husband and with the girls I'm like, yeah they'll eventually learn because they have to. How terrible is that?! 😱😂 So, to remind myself as much as all of you.... It's never too late to teach your kiddies to cook! There are loads of skills we can teach our kiddies now, so when they do get out into the big wide world they can easily cook a few basic meals and not have to rely on two minute noodles and weetbix for sustenance. Activities for kiddies 5+ ✔️ reading recipes and following them ✔️ measuring and weighing ✔️ using the oven and stove (with supervision) ✔️ cutting with knives and using a stick blender or food processor or grater ✔️ prepare their own lunchboxes 🍡 baking, measuring, sifting, stirring 🍡 grating and peeling 🍡 using cookie cutters 🍡 chopping and cutting 🍡 cracking eggs and separating eggs 🍡 using kitchen tools like egg beaters and stick blenders 🍡 mixing and whisking 🍡 assembling foods like putting toppings on pizza or fillings in sushi I have goals set to teach my girls cooking skills, over the next few months. I have focused on jobs that will be most helpful to me when I'm busy and need to whip up instant food: make aioli make custard assemble a salad marinate meat prepare a roast meal use my food processor to dice and grate vegetables. Would you add any others?

11 views0 comments
bottom of page